top of page

Green Schools Committee 2016-2017

New to our Green Schools Committee this year, we would like to welcome Teachers;

Ms. Deirdre Chute, Ms. Clare Harney, Ms. Orla Hanrahan, and Ms. Shauna Hanrahan.

Welcome also to 5th Class students;

Conor Dwyer, Rebecca McLaren, Dylan Ryan, Ryan O'Connor and Freya Fitzgerald to our .

Welcome back to last years members;

Ms. Dara Cosgrove, Ms. Jenny Kavanagh, Mia Fitzgerald (Chairperson), Laura Mulvey (Treasurer), Jessica O’Donoghue (Secretary), James Devitt and Holly Moore (PRO).

We are currently working on the second year of our Water theme. We hope to apply for our third green flag in March 2017, so there is a lot of hard work to be done between now and then!

The Committee has come up with lots of ideas that they will be working on over the coming months. They include;

  • Informing and involving students in ways to save water.

  • We hope to build a water wall for the Infants in the courtyard, using recycled materials and recycled water.

  • We will be monitoring water usage in the school in the hope of reducing it.

  • Thanks to the water butts we installed last year, we have lots of rainwater to use for watering etc.

  • We will be installing hippo bags in the toilets to reduce the amount of water that is flushed.

Please help at home and try and reduce the amount of water you use. Help your children find ways of saving water

October water saving tip:

Only fill the kettle with enough water for your needs. You will save energy too!

Sign Up for News Updates Emails

Never miss an update

Recent Posts